Which is my half?

Nasrudin and a friend were thirsty, and stopped at a café for a drink. They decided to share a glass of milk.
    ‘You drink your half first,’ said the friend, ‘because I have some sugar here, just enough for one. I shall add this to my share of the milk and drink it.’
    ‘Add it now,’ said the Mulla, ‘and I will drink only my half.’
    ‘Certainly not. There is only enough sugar to sweeten half a glass of milk.’
    Nasrudin went to the owner of the café, and came back with a large packet of salt.
    ‘Good news, friend,’ he said, ‘I am drinking first, as agreed, and I want my milk with salt.’

The Pleasantries of the Incredible Mulla Nasrudin Idries Shah, Octagon Press

Bonneville salt flats

Leave a Reply

